Part 82 – Calling Elsie

Ambrose woke up, crying. He curled his knees up to his chest and covered his face with his hands.

It was a dream. Only a dream. But it could happen. It could become real. What am I supposed to do? I can’t go back to her. I can’t. I have to let her go. But she’s weak. She’s vulnerable. I have to go to her. I have to protect her. I need to be with her again.

He sat up. “I should call her.”

Ambrose rubbed away his tears. He grabbed his cellphone and dialed information. “Hello. I need you to connect me to Elsie Vansing in Havaton. What? I don’t see how that’s any of your business. I’m calling her at this hour because I feel that it’s necessary. That’s all you need to know. Now. Connect me.” He resisted the urge to growl at the operator. “El-sie Van-sing. Exactly how it sounds. Don’t be stupid! Yes. You heard me. I’ll call you worse things if you don’t put me through. E-L-S-I-E  V-A-N-S-I-N-G. Yes. Havaton. Hav-a-ton. Yes. Yes.” He clenched his teeth. “So, help me. Yes. Thank you.”

The phone rang in his ear.

His stomach hurt.

His head still hurt.

His neck didn’t feel too good either.

“Pick up. Pick up. Pick up.”

A woman’s flat, unenthusiastic voice announced, “I’m sorry, but the person you are trying to reach is not available. Please try again later. If you need to leave a message, please wait for the beep.” The machine beeped.

“Elsie.” He tightened his grip on the phone. “Elsie, if you’re there, if you can hear me, call me back. Please call me back. Let me know that you’re okay. I miss you. Oh, but it’s so much more than that. Elsie. I…I…”

“Your message has run too long. Good-bye.”

He ended the call and sat there with the phone still in his hand.

Leave a Reply

