Part 64 – Ambrose and Elsie

“Hello? Is someone there?”

“Elsie.”

She fell silent.

“Elsie, it…It’s me.”

“Ambrose.”

A hurting kind of happiness grabbed onto him. “Look. I…Are you…Are you all right? Are you okay?”

Silence.

“Please talk to me.”

“I don’t know what to say.”

“Anything.”

More silence.

“I wish you were here with me. I wish you weren’t so far away.”

“Ambrose. You hurt me.”

“I…”

“You tried to change me.”

“I’m sorry.”

“So am I. I have to go.”

“No, please! Don’t.”

“I’m tired. I need to get some rest.”

“You need to leave. Now. Go somewhere safe.”

“What? Why?”

“Mark Caten’s  going to kill you.”

“Personally?” He could hear the smile in her voice and it was like a wooden dagger right into his heart. “That doesn’t seem like his normal way of doing things.”

“He’s going to send assassins.”

“Hn. That’s more like his style.”

“Vampires. They’re going to bite you. I don’t know if they will kill you or change you. I don’t know. I don’t want anything to happen to you. Please run away.”

“Ambrose.”

The sound of her voice saying his name pushed the dagger in deep.

“If I leave, I don’t know if I’ll see you again.”

I want to touch her. I want to kiss her. I want to feel her in my arms, feel the wild tangle of her black hair. I want her scent to fill me up.

I want to bite her wrist one last time.

“Ambrose? Hello? Are you still there?”

Tears fell.

“Yes. I’m here.” And she’s there. So far away. “Elsie.”

“Ambrose.”

“Go. That lummox Ephrem is strong enough to carry both you and Hildreth.”

“I’ll miss you.” She hung up.

He stood there with the phone clutched in his hand. “I miss you.”

Leave a Reply

