Part 37 – Looking for the Vampire On the Run

It doesn’t matter.

She doesn’t matter.

I’m fine.

I’m fine.

I’m fine.

Why can’t I stop shaking?

Ha. It’s from carrying Hildreth’s heavy body all that way. Over-taxed muscles and nerves. That’s all it is.

It’s nothing more than that.

Ambrose tripped over a tree root and fell hard.

Elsie.

My Elsie.

I wish…

Footsteps.

He snapped to attention.

Many footsteps. Many scents. Many voices.

Flashlights.

Coming from the car-clotted road.

“I saw him carrying the body into these woods. I swear I did.”

“That’s what I saw.”

“Me too.”

Oh, great. Just what I need. A mob.

“Get the dogs over here.”

A mob with dogs. Oh, that’s just so much better. He turned and ran towards Elsie’s house.

I could steal her car.

But I don’t have her keys.

I could break into her house and demand that she hand over her keys.

But that would take too much time.

And they’d put out a search for her car.

They’d find me.

I don’t want to be found.

The dogs bayed.

“Hurry! Follow the dogs. This way!”

I could hide up in the trees.

But I don’t want to be treed like an animal.

I don’t want to be caught.

I don’t want to be put on display.

He ran out of the woods, across her yard, and down her driveway.

I just want to go home.

An idea came to life in his head. A whole woven cloth of an idea.

If only I can get to the city.

Leave a Reply

