Part 29 – Laetissa’s Revelation

A few minutes passed in silence.

Laetissa broke it. “I…I suppose I should speak of myself now. It would be fair exchange. You spoke of yourself and I should return the favor. Even and even.”

They walked across a narrow wooden bridge. She stopped at the midway point and looked down at the rushing stream. “I love water. I’ve always loved water. Water was my home or so it seemed.”

Ambrose stopped and looked back at her. “We need to keep going.”

She stroked the railing with her fingertips. “When I left home, I bought a small cottage by the sea. I was happy. Oh, so very happy there. Then…” Her fingers went still. “A man came.”

Ambrose looked up at the night sky. “Day will be here soon.”

“He told me that I was one of the special ones. I remember his voice asking me, ‘Have you ever felt that you were not like the others?’ Well. I lived alone so I told him no. He told me that I should have been trained long ago. My mother should have had trained me from childhood.”

Ambrose looked down at her and frowned. “Your mother was a hunter?”

“I’ve come from a long line of hunters, but my mother wanted the line to be broken. She wanted it all to end for good.”

“This is going to be an odd question for me to ask, but why would she break the tradition?”

“A vampire killed the man she loved who was not my father. She didn’t want me to get involved with that kind of hurting and heart breaking. So, she chose to not send me to the trainers. She never even told me of her hunter past.”

“But this man told you.”

“Yes.”

“And he trained you.”

“Yes.”

“And then?”

Her face twitched as if she were trying not to cry. “I had seashells in my house. Beautiful, shining seashells. Some were the color of coral. Others the color of sky. I loved the ones that were colored like the dawn. Such beauty.” Her mouth twitched up into a sad smile. “I can’t wait to go back. I will have to dust them.” Tears fell down her face. “They must be so dusty by now.”

“Laetissa. Tell me. What happened?”

She turned her face away from him. “He was changed.” She made a sound that was somewhere between a gasp and a sob. “He changed me. I trusted him. I liked him. Never loved. Just liked as a friend, a companion, a comrade. I never thought…never expected…He changed me and then he threw me into that other dimension.”

Ambrose stood still and watched her cry. ‘You spoke of a man that you loved.”

She wiped away her tears. “Did I?”

“When you were trapped in that other dimension, you said that you wanted to be with the man that you love.”

“Oh, yes. I remember. Oglithorpe Rodgers. He was a gargoyle. He lived next door to me.” She took a breath and exhaled it. “He would walk along the shore with me. We would collect seashells. He would always find the best ones.” She looked up at him. “Do you suppose he is still alive?”

Ambrose shrugged impatiently. “We need to keep moving. Dawn will be here soon. I do not want to be caught up in it again. Come.”

She blew a kiss to the water below and followed Ambrose to the other side of the bridge.

One thought on “Part 29 – Laetissa’s Revelation”

Leave a Reply

